Travel warning issued by 10 countries against Southern Thailand

Thailand's Deep South map

Thailand's Deep South map. Image: Ahoerstemeier.

BANGKOK, 28 September 2011 (NNT) – The recent car bombs in Su-ngai Kolok district of Narathiwat province have prompted ten countries to warn their citizens against traveling to Southern Thailand, according to the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT).

In the wake of three deadly car explosions in Su-ngai Kolok district on 16 September, which left 50 people injured and 4 dead, TAT Deputy Governor for Asia and South Pacific Markets Sansern Ngaorungsri stated that several nations had instructed travelers to avoid visiting the three southern border provinces of Thailand. They include Austria, the Netherlands, Norway, Denmark, the United Kingdom, New Zealand, South Korea, Portugal and Malaysia.

Meanwhile, ten other countries, consisting of Australia, Canada, France, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland, have cautioned their citizens against coming to the Deep South. Nonetheless, Mr Sansern believed the bomb attack only had short-term effects on local tourism, citing that Su-ngai Kolok still remained a popular destination among foreign tourists.

According to the Deputy Governor, the number of Asian visitors to Thailand during the first eight months of this year reportedly stands at 6.9 million, a 35 percent increase year-on-year. Chinese tourists alone account for 1.1 million.

National News Bureau of Thailand

Leave a Reply