11 districts of Chiang Mai declared drought disaster zones

1 min read

CHIANG MAI, 4 April 2012 (NNT) – Eleven districts in the northern province of Chiang Mai have been declared disaster zones due to severe drought.

Director of the Chiang Mai Disaster Prevention and Mitigation Office Khomsan Suwanampha said the drought has struck eleven districts of the province, namely Doi Lo, Chom Thong, Mae Chaem, San Kamphaeng, Phrao, Samoeng, Mae On, Hot, Fang, Chai Prakan and Doi Tao. Over 60,000 households have been affected by the ongoing crisis as nearly 30,000 rai of crops are without irrigation water.

To address the issue, the Chiang Mai governor has approved an emergency fund worth 1 million baht for use in disaster relief in each district.

Meanwhile, the provincial irrigation office has sent 3 water pumps to relieve drought conditions in Chom Thong district. The provincial administration has also distributed more water to those living outside the irrigation zones while drinking water supply trucks have been sent out as part of the relief operation.

Mr Komsan said that the Meteorological Department has predicted more rain in the coming days, which will provide much-needed relief for the drought-hit parts of the North.

National News Bureau of Thailand

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!


The main purpose of Thailand News is to offer our readers all news from the most popular and trusted newspapers in Thailand & Asia in one place.

Get breaking news and the latest news headlines from Bangkok, Phuket, Pattaya, Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Isan, the insurgency-plagued South and Asia.

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a Reply