21 provinces of Thailand warned of flash floods, mudslides

Estimated read time 1 min read

BANGKOK, 13 July 2011 (NNT) – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has issued a warning for possible flash floods and mudslides in 21 provinces in all parts of the country except for the northeast during this period.

The 21 provinces comprise Mae Hong Son, Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Phayao, Nan, Lampang, Lamphun, Phrae, Uttaradit, Tak, Phetchaburi, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Chon Buri, Rayong, Chanthaburi, Trat, Ranong, Phang Nga, Phuket, Krabi and Trang.

DDPM Director-General Viboon Sanguanpong said villagers in the areas are warned to brace for heavy rain from 12 to 15 July 2011 while those residing in risky spots such as on hill slopes and near waterways, are urged to stay vigilant for unusual signals in the nature including change of water colour, raining of longer than six hours, and rapid rise of water in rivers, so that evacuation can be made in time.

In addition, high waves and strong wind are expected in the Andaman Sea and the Gulf of Thailand. Fisher folks should be cautious when sailing at sea while small boats are advised to remain ashore for the time being.

Read more: NNT


The main purpose of Thailand News is to offer our readers all news from the most popular and trusted newspapers in Thailand & Asia in one place.

Get breaking news and the latest news headlines from Bangkok, Phuket, Pattaya, Chiang Mai, Northern Thailand, Isan, the insurgency-plagued South and Asia.

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a Reply