Thailand News

Breaking news headlines

23 provinces facing drought, 30 to see heavy rain: Thailand

1 min read
Breaking News

Breaking News. Image: GoodManPL (Pixabay).

BANGKOK, 9 June 2011 (NNT) – A total of 23 provinces are experiencing drought while another 30 provinces in the North, Northeast, East and central region are warned of torrential rain from 8 to 12 June 2011, according to the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM).

DDPM Director-General Viboon Sanguanpong reported that 23 provinces have been declared a dry spell zone, including three in the North namely Chiang Rai, Nan and Phrae, another three in the central region namely Sukhothai, Phetchabun and Pichit, and three more in the West namely Prachuap Khiri Khan, Phetchaburi and Kanchanaburi.

Fourteen other provinces facing drought are in the Northeast namely Loei, Nongkhai, Bueng Kan, Ubon Ratchathani, Mukdahan, Sakon Nakhon, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Chaiyaphum, Amnat Charoen, Kalasin, Nakhon Ratchasima, Buriram and Yasothon.

Read more: NNT

Leave a Reply