Eleven provinces of Thailand declared ‘flood-disaster’ zones to date

BANGKOK, 19 September 2012 (NNT) – A total of 11 provinces across the country have been declared flood-disaster zones.

The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) Director-General Wiboon Sanguanpong said on Tuesday that, to date, the 11 provinces declared as flood-disaster zones include Lampang, Uttaradit, Sukhothai, Phitsanulok, Nakhon Sawan, Chainat, Suphan Buri, Ang Thong, Ayutthaya, Chaiyaphum and Prachinburi.

Mr. Wiboon said that, currently, 142,537 members of 57,729 households in 43 districts have fallen victim to the latest flood.

At the same time, 40 districts in 4 provinces including Buriram, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Phatthalung and Surat Thani, remain drought-disaster zones where 307,140 households have been affected by the shortage of rain.

Read more: NNT

Share this article

Leave a Reply


As a big fan of Thailand, this website was born as a personal site to bookmark the most interesting articles from different Thai newspapers for late reading. The website attracted some visitors so I decided to keep it online.

Thailand News is is a non-commercial website, ads are placed in some pages to help pay the server hosting costs.

The main purpose is to offer our readers all Thai news from the most trusted sources in Thailand in one place