15 provinces of Thailand declared as flood-disaster zones

BANGKOK, 21 September 2012 (NNT) – The Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) has announced that more provinces have fallen victim to the monsoon flooding, which has rampaged several parts of the country in the past weeks.

DDPM Director-General Wiboon Sanguanpong said on Thursday that a total of 15 provinces have been declared flood-disaster zones. They include Tak, Sukhothai, Phitsanulok, Pichit, Chainat, Ang Thong, Ayutthaya, Suphan Buri, Prachinburi, Sakaeo, Nakhon Pathom, Chonburi, Rayong, Chachoengsao and Chaiyaphum.

According to Mr. Wiboon, 235,545 people from 88,438 families have been hit hard by severe flooding induced by recent heavy downpours.

He added that, Sakaeo locals have been hit by flash flood and forest run-off, while flash flood and run-off were also reported at the Rong Klua Market.

In Prachinburi, low-lying areas of the province have been inundated after the Prachinburi River burst the banks.

Read more: NNT

Share this article

Leave a Reply


As a big fan of Thailand, this website was born as a personal site to bookmark the most interesting articles from different Thai newspapers for late reading. The website attracted some visitors so I decided to keep it online.

Thailand News is is a non-commercial website, ads are placed in some pages to help pay the server hosting costs.

The main purpose is to offer our readers all Thai news from the most trusted sources in Thailand in one place